Decades after leaving school, September is still my favourite time of year. It means crisp air, clean skies, oversized uniform and the intention my homework will always be beautifully presented and handed in on time.

As Tom Hanks says in You’ve Got Mail: “Don’t you just love New York in the fall? It makes me want to buy school supplies.” It’s Autumn in Bournemouth and I want to learn something new.

Last week, I told an editor to say no if I ever offered her any of my own photos. It might be my phone. I suspect it’s me. My pictures seem little better than they were when I was first given a camera at ten. And so I avoid taking them, and the ones I do are impressionistic.

old photographer at work

But yesterday, I downloaded a book on Kindle- Photography for Writers. In an hour, it demystified frightening terms like shutter speed and pixel, and inspired my September challenge – to take a photo a day for a month and see if I improve.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Season of sharpened pencils and mellow productivity

  1. Great challenge Sophie look forward to the pictures! That ‘Highlands’ programme I mentioned on Facebook at one point interviewed an fab photographer – he said ‘don’t take what you see – take what you FEEL’ – I liked that.

    Like

    1. Yes, I am taking the pictures and have even learned how to upload them onto my computer (massive progress for a luddite). Might post a few of them here, when I get a bit more comfortable, but thinking about Instagram.

      Like

Leave a Reply

