Am I alone in thinking New Year is a very strange time for a reset? For one thing, I am in a state of over-relaxation, where it’s hard to take sudden school drop-offs and homework seriously. For another, it’s freezing. Like a reptile, I slow down when I’m cold. I’m torn between my need to keep on top of things and a desire to curl up in front of the fire and go to sleep.

But I’m finding end-of-day lists really helpful. They not only provide a “sign off” before I switch back to parent mode for school pick-up, I know where to start the next morning, circumventing the need for decision-making much before lunch.

A couple of journalistic firsts (for me, not mankind) this week:

One of my editors suggested I write under a pseudonym. I had a happy minute or two trying to work out a name that would baffle the authorities before I realised, as I’m not indulging in espionage, my maiden name would suffice.

I saw one of my pieces advertised in the “coming soon” section of a magazine. And that was how I found out it had been accepted.

Happy New Year. Thank you for reading my blog. It justifies my pleasure writing it.

New Year- good or bad timing for a restart?  Anyone else slow down in the cold?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

